Worldwide Home | Search     
Home > Curriculum

O Levels

The O Levels are a standard UK qualification usually taken at the age of 16. O Levels provide a foundation for further study or employment. O levels are available in a wide range of subjects covering the whole curriculum. Most students take between seven and 10 O Level exams after studying for two to three years in their chosen subjects. Beaconhouse students take the O Level exam administered by the University of Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate.

A Levels

The A Levels are an Advanced level GCE qualification used internationally as a pre-university requirement. These exams are normally taken after two years of A Level study and are available in a broad range of subjects. Usually, A Level courses immediately follow on from O Level courses and most candidates enter between two and four subjects at the age of 18. Beaconhouse students take the A Level exams administered by the University of Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate.

Matriculation Examination

This is the Pakistani 10th grade examination, administered by national and provincial education boards. Most students who pass this examination are 16 years old.
Once the examination is passed, students are said to have matriculated.

Intermediate Examination

This is the Pakistani 12th grade examination, and is akin to junior college. While it is a qualification in its own right, students at this level are preparing for entry to University or College.

Montessori method

The method is characterised by an emphasis on self-directed activity on the part of the child and clinical observation on the part of the teacher (often called a "director", "directress", or "guide"). It stresses the importance of adapting the child's learning environment to his or her developmental level, and of the role of physical activity in absorbing academic concepts and practical skills. It is also characterised by the use of autodidactic (self-correcting) equipment to introduce various concepts.

Beaconhouse School Curriculum

The Beaconhouse School Curriculum is modelled after the Scottish and the UK National curricula, and covers Grade 1 to 8. The Beaconhouse School Curriculum has contextualised and built on these curricula to adapt to local needs. It is taught in English with the exception of language classes, and it strives to develop knowledge, skills, values and cultural understanding within pupils.

Reggio Emilia

The Reggio Emilia method has been hailed as the best approach to early childhood education by Newsweek. The approach was developed for municipal education programmes serving children below six in the Italian city of Reggio Emilia. The approach requires children to be seen as competent, resourceful, curious, imaginative, inventive and to possess a desire to interact and communicate with others. Some key features of Reggio Emilia's early childhood programme are:

    • The role of the environment-as-teacher
    • Children's multiple symbolic languages
    • Documentation as assessment and advocacy
    • Long-term projects
    • The teacher as researcher
    • Home-school relationships


© 2017 - Beaconhouse
developed by evolve