Home | School Registration | Contact Us | FAQ | Search     
  About Us
Group Profile
Parent/Student Information
  South Asia  
  South East Asia  
  Middle East  
Home > Curriculum

Reggio Emilia
The Reggio Emilia method has been hailed as the best approach to early childhood education by Newsweek. The approach was developed for municipal education programmes serving children below six in the Italian city of Reggio Emilia. The approach requires children to be seen as competent, resourceful, curious, imaginative, inventive and possessing a desire to interact and communicate with others.
Some key features of Reggio Emilia's early childhood programme are:
    The role of the environment-as-teacher 
    Children's multiple symbolic languages
    Documentation as assessment and advocacy
    Long-term projects
    The teacher as researcher
    Home-school relationships


Malaysian National Curriculum
The Malaysian National Curriculum is a comprehensive educational programme that uses the curriculum and required co-curricular activities to develop knowledge, skills, norms, values, cultural elements and beliefs within pupils. Students study in the local language and English, and the curriculum stretches from First Grade to University level.


Philippine National Curriculum
The National Central Bureau of Elementary and Secondary Education in the Philippines defines the learning competencies for different subject areas, and conceptualises the structure of the curriculum. The curriculum is set after consulting a range of stakeholders, from industry to socio-economic groups. Schools implement these curricular requirements their own way, from resources to teaching and assessment strategies.


O Levels
O Levels are a standard UK qualification usually taken at the age of 16. O Levels provide a foundation for further study or employment and are available in a wide range of subjects covering the whole curriculum. Most students take between seven and 10 O Levels after studying for two to three years in their chosen subjects. Beaconhouse students take the O Level exam administered by the University of Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate.


A Levels
The A Levels are an Advanced level GCE qualification used internationally as a pre-university requirement. These exams are normally taken after two years of A Level study and are available in a broad range of subjects. Usually, A Level courses immediately follow on from O Level courses and most candidates enter between two and four subjects at the age of 18. Beaconhouse students take the A Level exams administered by the University of Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate.


Matriculation Examination
This is the Pakistani 10th grade examination, administered by national and provincial education boards. Most students who pass this examination are 16 years old.
Once the examination is passed, students are said to have matriculated.


Intermediate Examination
This is the Pakistani 12th grade examination, and is akin to junior college. While it is a qualification in its own right, students at this level are preparing for entry to University or College.


Omani National Curriculum
The Omani National Curriculum ranges from KG to Grade 12. Students study English and the Sciences modelled on the UK national curriculum. They also take Arabic, Islamic Studies and Social Studies.


Kindergarten is a form of education for children aged three to five which serves as a transition from home to the commencement of more formal schooling. Children are taught to develop basic skills through creative play and social interaction.


Nursery school
A nursery school is a school for children between the ages of 2.5 and five, staffed by qualified teachers and other professionals who encourage and supervise educational play rather than simply providing childcare.


Montessori method
The method is characterised by an emphasis on self-directed activity on the part of the child and clinical observation on the part of the teacher (often called a "director", "directress", or "guide"). It stresses the importance of adapting the child's learning environment to his or her developmental level, and of the role of physical activity in absorbing academic concepts and practical skills. It is also characterised by the use of autodidactic (self-correcting) equipment to introduce various concepts.


Beaconhouse School Curriculum
The Beaconhouse School Curriculum is modelled after the Scottish Curriculum and the UK National Curriculum, and covers Grade 1 to 8. The Beaconhouse School Curriculum has contextualised and built on these curricula to adapt to local needs. It is taught in English with the exception of language classes, and it strives to develop knowledge, skills, values and cultural understanding within pupils.


UK National Curriculum
The UK National Curriculum teaches art and design, design and technology, English, geography, history, information and communication technology, mathematics, music, physical education and science. The curriculum also provides non-statutory guidelines for citizenship, modern and foreign languages, and personal, social and health education.

The Curriculum is based on the ideal that education is a route to the spiritual, moral, social, cultural, physical and mental development, and thus the wellbeing, of an individual. Education is also a route to equality of opportunity for all, a healthy and just democracy, a productive economy, and sustainable development.

© 2017 - Beaconhouse
developed by evolve